Dietary Reference Intakes: Applications in Dietary Assessment

The Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs) are developed and published by the US Institute of Medicine (IOM). The DRIs were designed to replace the Recommended Dietary Allowances (RDAs) in the United States and the Recommended Nutrient Intakes (RNIs) in Canada. The DRIs include the following dietary reference standards: Estimated Average Requirement (EAR), Recommended Dietary Allowance (RDA), Adequate intake (AI), and Tolerable Upper Intake Level (UL).

Institute of Medicine
Focus Area:
Dietary data analysis
Publication type:
Dietary reference material